Friday, 10 February 2017

St Mary's buys a cow!

During Advent and Christmastide, St Mary's Youth Group raised money for Christian Aid's Present Aid scheme.

This was primarily done by asking members of St Mary's congregation to make donations in lieu of sending Christmas Cards.



In 2016 the magnificent total of £542 was raised.

This has been sent to Christian Aid with the request to spend it on the following:

The gift of a cow, will give a widow with children enough milk to keep her children healthy. She can sell any excess at market, and can save up to buy chickens and start selling eggs to improve her life.
In addition to the cow, the money raised will also provide a Home Safety Package to enable the home of a family in Bangladesh to be raised above the flood level, and help fund a Mobile Health Centre in Kenya. 

An excellent effort!

Thursday, 12 January 2017

Messy Church


The next Messy Church at St Mary’s is on Sunday 29th January
 
The afternoon includes songs, craft activities and food
 
Photos from the last Messy Church:
 
 
 






 
 
 
 

 

Tuesday, 29 November 2016

Christmas at St Mary’s


2015-11-016


Friday 2nd December

7.30pm      Chester Operatic Society Concert
 
Saturday 3rd December      

7.30pm      Chester Operatic Society Concert
Saturday 10th December     

7.00pm      Jan Modelski Community Orchestra Concert
Sunday 11th December

4.00pm      Scout & Guide Advent Service at the Scout Hut, Westminster Park
Saturday 17th December

7.30pm      Chester Bach Singers Carol Concert
Sunday 18th December 

6.30pm      Service of Nine Lessons & Carols
Saturday 24th December: Christmas Eve

4.00pm      Crib Service

11.30pm    Midnight Eucharist
Sunday 25th December: Christmas Day

10.30am    Parish Communion